GENEALOGY TOOLBOX

GENEALOGY TOOLBOX


Beginner's Corner

Family History for Beginners - FamilySearch https://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/Family_History_for_Beginners

Developing your research skills https://genealogy.com/articles/research/

Document as You Go! https://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/Document_AS_YOU_GO!

Ancestry.com You Tube Channel youtube.com/user/ancestrycom

FamilySearch Family History Classes https://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/Family_History_Library_Classes_and_Webinars

Ancestry.com Learning Center https://www.ancestry.com/academy/courses/recommended

Getting Started - American Ancestors      https://www.americanancestors.org/education/learning-resources/read/getting-started


General Research

Ancestry.com Ancestry.com

FamilySearch FamilySearch.org

Find My Past findmypast.com

My Heritage myheritage.com

Internet Archive archive.org

Google google.com

US Gen Web                                                                  usgenweb.org

Cyndi's List cyndislist.com


Bay Area Resources

San Francisco Genealogy sfgenealogy.org

Sutro Library library.ca.gov/sutro

Oakland Family History Center https://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/Oakland_California_FamilySearch_Library

Napa Valley Genealogical Library napavalleygenealogy.org

Sonoma County Genealogical Society scgsonline.org

Contra Costa County Genealogical Society cccgs.net

San Mateo County Genealogical Society smcgs.org

San Francisco Bay Area Jewish Genealogical Society jewishgen.org/sfbajgs


Research Skills

BCG Ethics and Standards https:bcgcertification.org/ethics-standards/

Evidence Explained - Quick Lessons www.evidenceexplained.com

Genealogy Proof Standard https://www.genealogyexplained.com/basics/genealogical-proof-standard/


Genealogical Societies

California Genealogical Society californiaancestors.org

National Genealogical Society ngsgenealogy.com

Napa Valley Genealogical Library napavalleygenealogy.org

Sonoma County Genealogical Society scgsonline.org

Contra Costa County Genealogical Society cccgs.net

San Mateo County Genealogical Society smcgs.org

San Francisco Bay Area Jewish Genealogical Society jewishgen.org/sfbajgs


Libraries and Books

FamilySearch Wiki familysearch.org/wiki/

FamilySearch Books https://www.familysearch.org/library/books/

Google Books books.google.com

Hathi Trust hathitrust.org

Internet Public Library ipl.org

National Archives archives.gov

Library of Congress loc.gov.index.html

Newberry Library newberry.org

Allen County Library genealogycenter.org

Ancestry Card Catalog ancestry.com/search/cardcatalog.aspx

Persi search.findmypast.com/search/periodical-source-index

Daughters Of The American Revolution Library dar.org/library/default.cfm


DNA

International Society of Genetic Genealogy www.isogg.org

Gedmatch gedmatch.org

DNA Gedcom dnagedcom.com

DNA Painter dnapainter.com

Genetic Genealogist thegeneticgenealogist.com


Cemeteries

FindAGrave findagrave.com

Billion Graves biliongraves.com


Immigration Records

Ellis Island libertyellisfoundation.org

Stephen Morse One Step Pages stevemorse.org


Webinars and Podcasts

Legacy Family Tree Webinars familytreewebinars.com

Southern California Genealogical Society Webinar scgsgenealogy.com

The Genealogy Guys Podcast genealogyguys.com

Generations Cafe https://www.amyjohnsoncrow.com/announcing-generations-cafe-genealogy-podcast/

The Genealogy Professional Podcast http://www.thegenealogyprofessional.com/

Genealogy Gems Podcast lisalouisecooke.com

Family History Fanatics YouTube https://www.youtube.com/results?search_query=Family+History+Fanatics


Maps

David Rumsey Map Collection https://www.davidrumsey.com/

Library of Congress memory.loc.gov/ammem/gmdhtml/

Historic Map Works historicmapworks.com

Google Maps maps.google.com


Newspapers

Chronicling America chroniclingamerica.gov

Genealogy Bank genealogybank.com

Newspapers.com newspapers.com

Newspaper Archive newspaperarchive.com

Old Fulton Postcards fultonhistory.com


Land Records

Bureau of Land Management https://glorecords.blm.gov/default.aspx


Other Tools

Archaic Medical Terms archaicmedicalterms.com

Abbreviations & Acronyms for Genealogy    https://www.geni.com/projects/Abbreviations-Acronyms-for-Genealogy-The-Accepted/3096

Genealogy Blogs https://mcgs.box.com/s/q4h9q0a1xpgmbys3rc2vce3zoy721sqa

Old Occupations     https://www.familyresearcher.co.uk/glossary/Dictionary-of-Old-Occupations-Index.html

Street Name Changes stevemorse.org/census/changes

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software